Presents for a bookworm

This week’s question at BTT:

What, if any, memorable or special book have you ever gotten as a present? Birthday or otherwise. What made it so notable? The person who gave it? The book itself? The “gift aura?”

My answer:

In this case, I have been three times lucky. 🙂 Thrice I have been surprised and deeply touched by presents in the forms of books.

The first was ‘Wings of Fire’ by Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, a gift from some of my close friends at work last Christmas. It meant a lot to me because I have always liked Dr. Kalam and hold a high level of respect for him. It was a very pleasant surprise for me. I was touched by the choice of book, as well as the thought process and planning that went behind it.

The second instance was ‘A Tale of Two Cities’ by Sathej. Again, a pleasant surprise. It is his favourite book, he told me, and he had a feeling I would like it too. I was touched to receive his copy of the book. I was touched by the feeling behind the gift.

The third and the most recent instance was the gift of a bunch of books by Tagore from my betrothed. He knows the reverence that I have for Tagore. It came as a complete surprise to me. I was deeply touched to receive books, that too by Tagore. The thought process behind the gift was that it would mean a lot to me, and it did. I was touched by the amount of effort put into the selection of a perfect gift, and it was indeed perfect.

I feel really blessed to have you all in my life. Thanks for being there. Thanks for providing me some special moments. It felt wonderful. Thanks also to BTT for providing me this opportunity. 🙂

10 Comments

Filed under Reading Ramana, Tag

10 responses to “Presents for a bookworm

  1. I love it when friends give me copies of the books they love, although it doesn’t happen very often – I’m more likely to be the one giving out my favorites. I always loved “Tale of Two Cities,” too.

    i love it too! 🙂 i am gonna read ‘the tale of two cities’ pretty soon, and i hope i love it too! 🙂

  2. You are blessed to have so many good people in your life. Happy Booking Through Thursday. I’m giving away a couple of books. See my sidebar if you’re interested.
    http://bookcritiques.blogspot.com/

    welcome here, sally! yes, i m indeed blessed.
    thanks for telling me about the giveaway. i did go to your blog and checked out the rules, but i am not eligible to enter. 😦

  3. This makes me realize I have never been gifted a book 🙂

    oh! for a book lover like you, that’s sad! 😦

  4. Thanks for the mention 🙂

    most welcome! 🙂

  5. s w a t

    I have got ‘Who moved my cheese’ and Garfield strips in a book as presents. I adore and treasure the Garfield comic.
    🙂

    🙂

  6. Hmm..nice post. 🙂

    I’ve been wanting to read ‘Wings of Fire’ for some time now.

    thanks.. me too want to read ‘wings of fire’ sometime soon…

  7. hey:) isn’t it awesome qhen someone gifts you a book??:) my birthday was just this past weekend and my husband got me “Enchantress of Florence” coz Rushdie is my favorite author..:) I am super excited:)
    haven’t read “wings of Fire” though i have been wanting to for quite some time now.. have you read it? how was it??

    yup, it sure feels awesome.. when considerable care has been taken to understand what kind of writing you like and what kind of book would you prefer… (especially when the person giving the gift is not much of a book freak)… feels good! 🙂
    i have never read rushdie. 😦 ya, i know that’s shameful… 😦
    i haven’t read ‘wings of fire’ yet… though it was gifted to me a long time back… somehow not ready for it… planning to read it soon…

  8. shweta

    owwwwww 😦

    no books i got as a gift….nor did i gave to ne 1…

    hw sad…

    ya, that’s really sad… but u can rectify that by gifting me a book any time… 😛 would be happy to accept! 🙂

  9. oh u blessed one! **touchwood**

    **touchwood**

  10. Pingback: Taggie time!!! « uniquely priya

Leave a comment